On Sunday, 26th November, over 160 members of Staffordshire County Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs took part in a variety of Public Speaking competitions including Member of the Year (17 and Under) and Male and Female Member of the Year (18 and Over).

Megan Barnes of Leek YFC was the winner of the 17 and under Section.  Competitors were required to complete a Synopsis Form giving details of their activities within YFC over the previous 12 months as well as information about school, career aspirations, and activities outside YFC.  An informal interview and power point presentation also took place on the day.  Megan has been an active member of Leek Young Farmers for three years joining at 13 years old, She has held the roles of Rally Secretary, Sports & Competition Secretary and is the current Club Treasurer. Meg has also recently been awarded the highly prestigious Junior Merit by Staffordshire YFC at their County AGM.

In second place was Tom Gray, has been a member of Lichfield Young Farmers for two years and enjoys an active role in the club.  He is currently studying at Denstone College and is a keen hockey and cricket player outside of YFC.  Tom is an enthusiastic member of his club and has taking part in many County competitions from public speaking, stockjudging and sports.  The third place was Scott Carter of Chase YFC.

Both Megan and Tom will go forward to represent Staffordshire YFC at the West Midlands Area round being held on Sunday 4th March 2018 at Oakengates Threatre, Telford.

Imogen Bloxham of Eccleshall YFC with judges Laura Sumner and Charles Day

The Female Member of the Year was won by Imogen Bloxham, aged 23 and is the Club Secretary of Eccleshall YFC.  Imogen has been a member of Staffordshire YFC for 9 years and has competed at County in many competitions. Imogen particularly enjoys performing arts and recently directed and choreographed a pantomime for Eccleshall YFC.  Imogen works as a Project Management Operations Coordinator for Jaguar LandRover .  Awarded second place was Beckie Phillips of Chase YFC.  Beckie has been a member of her local club for 4 years and is aged 23 years.  Beckie is currently Staffordshire YFC’s Vice Social and Funding Chairman and is Chase YFC’s Club Secretary for the second year.  In third place was Frances Wright of Chase YFC who has been a member for eight years and enjoys all aspects of being a member of young farmers.  Frances is the current Club Treasurer of Chase YFC

Johnathan Wilson of Uttoxeter with judges Laura Sumner and Charles Day

The Male Member of the Year as won by Johnathan Wilson of Uttoxeter JNFU.  Johnathan is 26 years of age and currently the Competitions Chairman for Staffordshire YFC for a second year running.  He works at home on the family farm and has been an active member for 12 years.   Jake Manning of Lichfield YFC came second and Rob Mollatt of Uttoxeter JNFU was placed third.  Senior competitors were required to complete an information sheet giving details of their experience with Young Farmers and attend an interview with the competition judges on the day.  All the judges on the day commented on the high standard of competitors and felt that the federation had some very enthusiastic and confident members to take on roles in their clubs in the future.

Johnathan Wilson and Imogen Bloxham will also represent Staffordshire YFC at the West Midlands Area round on Sunday 4th March at Oakengates Theatre, Shropshire.

For information on becoming a member or details of your local Club, contact Julia Taylor, County Organiser, on 01785 248645 or email countyoffice@staffsyoungfarmers.org.uk for further information. Our website at www.staffsyoungfarmers.org.uk has updated information about Staffordshire YFC and the local clubs, including recent event photos.   Also follow Staffordshire YFC on FaceBook Page “Staffordshire YFC” or Twitter @staffsyfc